Home / Armenia / Who Votes Against or For and Who Doesn’t Vote At All in Armenian Parliament

Who Votes Against or For and Who Doesn’t Vote At All in Armenian Parliament

The MP who voted against bills most often during the fifth convening of the National Assembly (since May 31st, 2012) is Armenian National Congress faction MP Nikol Pashinyan, voting against 192 times. After Pashinyan, Heritage party faction MPs Alexander Arzumanyan, Rubik Hakobyan, and Tevan Poghosyan, have respectively voted 119, 105, and 104 times against bills. MPs who vote most for bills belong to the ruling Republican Party of Armenia faction. Republican MPs Razmik Zohrabyan and Hovhannes Sahakyan share first and second places after voting 425 times for bills. The latter statistics were published on the parliamentmonitoring.am website with details about particular bills and their participants.

The Armenian Revolutionary Federation (ARF-D) faction members usually abstain during votes in the National Assembly. The party’s secretary Artsvik Minasyan has abstained 194 times, while faction members Aghvan Vardanyan and Armen Rustamyan 152 and 145 times.

Artsvik Minasyan is also considered the most active MP in the National Assembly, he has had 78 speeches and asked 93 questions. The Republican Party MP Khosrov Harutyunyan falls in second for the latter criteria with 65 speeches and 91 questions, in third place is independent MP Edmon Marukyan with 48 speeches and 72 questions.

Since 2012, the MP absent most frequently is Prosperous Armenia Party leader Gagik Tsarukyan, being absent a total of 424 times. Armenian National Congress faction MP Hrant Bagratyan was absent from sessions 230 times, and Prosperous Armenia Party faction MP Gurgen Arsenyan 218 times.