Home / Armenia / VIDEO: Eurovision Final to be Without Armenia This Year

VIDEO: Eurovision Final to be Without Armenia This Year

The first semi-final of the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest took place in the German city of Düsseldorf with 10 out of 19 countries qualifying for the grand final.

Emmy, representing Armenia with the song “Boom Boom,” was no. 4 in the line-up — however, she was left out of the final 10.

The countries qualifying for the final on May 14 are Serbia, Russia, Lithuania, Greece, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Switzerland, Hungary, Finland and Iceland. Along with Armenia, the following countries were left out: Turkey, Croatia, San-Marino, Poland, Norway, Albania, Malta and Portugal.

This is the first time since Armenia’s participation in Eurovision that it didn’t make it to the finals. Note, bookmakers were predicting the probability of Emmy being in the top 25 was quite low. A possible Armenia win was given a coefficient of 150 — bookmakers didn’t even think she would make it to the final.

Photo: Eurovision official website