Home / Armenia / Armenia-EU Joint Statement at Eastern Partnership Summit

Armenia-EU Joint Statement at Eastern Partnership Summit

"The EU and Armenia enjoy close links and reconfirm their commitment to further develop and strengthen comprehensive cooperation in all areas of mutual interest within the Eastern Partnership framework," reads a joint statement between the Republic of Armenia and the EU issued today at the third Eastern Partnership Summit in Vilnius.

The statement reiterates the commitment of both parties for continued cooperation, concluding, however, that Armenia will not initial an Association Agreement with the EU at this time" 

"Based on common values, both sides are committed to further cooperation aimed at the continuous improvement of democratic institutions and judiciary, the promotion of human rights and rule of law, good governance, the fight against corruption, the strengthening the civil society, the further improvement of the framework for enhanced trade and investments, the continued implementation of the mobility partnership and increased sectoral cooperation.

"Based on their common endeavour to build upon the existing framework of cooperation, the EU and Armenia stress the importance of revisiting the basis for their relations.

"The EU and Armenia acknowledge that they have completed negotiations on an Association Agreement, including a Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area, but will not proceed with its initialling due to Armenia's new international commitments. They agree on the need to update the EU-Armenia ENP Action Plan."

Recall, on Sept. 3, Armenian President Serzh Sargsyan announced Armenia's plans to join the Russian-led Customs Union, followed by succession into the Eurasian Economic Union. The EU made it clear that membership in these unions is not compatible with the Association Agreement, which includes the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area. Ukraine also stepped back from initialling an Association Agreement in Vilnius. Georgia and Moldova were the only two countries of the six Eastern Partnership countries to initial EU Association Agreements.