Home / Media / Several Government Officials Resign Amid Pashinyan’s Election

Several Government Officials Resign Amid Pashinyan’s Election

A number of deputy minsters and government officials resigned today, on May 8. Recall, today the National Assembly elected Nikol Pashinyan, MP from “Way out” faction as Armenia’s new prime minister.

In particular, Karen Karapetyan applied to the president of the Republic of Armenia Armen Sarkissian for the termination of his duties in the capacity of the acting First Deputy Prime Minster. Earlier, Karapetyan requested the dismissal of Zoya Barseghyan, the Head of Information and Public Relations Department of the Republic of Armenia Government Staff.

Alexan Harutyunyan, the acting Chief Advisor to the Prime Minister, and Vladimir Hakobyan, the acting Assistant to the Prime Minister, were also dismissed upon their requests. Similarly, dismissal was requested by the Chief Military Inspector Mikael Harutyunyan.

Vahe Stepanyan, the Chief of RA Government Staff got dismissed. Dismissals were requested by Artak Davtyan, the Deputy Minister of Defense (MoD), and Artak Zakaryan, the First Deputy of MoD. The latter posted on his Facebook page: “Given the  change in the political situation I decide to resign. Firstly, from now on my political team will act as an opposition and secondly, I believe, the new leadership of the MoD should be formed by the team of the newly elected Prime Minister”.